Size Chart

An item may not be fulfilled in your country, but we ship worldwide.

Release Date: June 10, 2022

Kardashev “Liminal Rite” CD
-Officially licensed Kardashev merchandise

01. The Approaching of Atonement
02. Silvered Shadows
03. Apparitions in Candlelight
04. Dissever
05. Lavender Calligraphy
06. The Blinding Threshold
07. Compost Grave-Song
08. Cellar of Ghosts
09. Glass Phantoms
10. A Vagabond’s Lament
11. Beyond the Passage of Embers

CD Features:
+ 4-Panel Digipak
+ 6-Page Booklet

As is always the case with Kardashev records, ‘Liminal Rite’ is lyrically deep and complex, focusing on emotion above all else. Drawn to the concept of liminality, the transitional stage of a process, each song references a simple object that creates a visual framework for the overall story. The record also follows a narrative laid out by Lang’s spoken word parts. “It is an anecdotal tale from a fictional man’s perspective late in life on how perception and reality do not always coalesce,” explains Mirolla. “His experience tells a larger message of how our minds often create a false view of the past. Sean’s narration is him expressing the man’s perception and recollection of life. The failure of his memory, the nature of dementia, and how it plays into his experience are all encapsulated by the narrative sections.” While Lang simply speaks his parts, Garrett possesses a phenomenal vocal range, branching from the heavenly and frail to multiple different extreme metal styles, and he follows his gut instincts when it comes to deciding which to employ. “Nico, Alex, and Sean write music that is heavily focused on emotional storytelling. Because of this, and since I write vocals once the rest of the song is complete, I find myself both swept away in the emotion of the song and wanting to help further the cathartic experience of the listener even more. I lead in a very feeling-forward way.”